Provincial Council

 Jou lud stim embleem FC  


FNP Steatefraksje


Tweebaksmarkt 52 

PO box 20120

8900 HM Ljouwert

The Netherlands 

Tel: +0031-58-2925803


   180px Fryske Flage 2


The Provincial Council is the democratically elected regional parliament of Fryslân. There are 43 Council Members representing 10 political parties. The Council members are elected by the inhabitants of the Province of Fryslân once every four years. 


The Provincial Council has three main tasks:

- set the framework for the provincial policies: they pose restaints and conditions within which the Provincial Executive has to govern the Province;

- exert control: the Council sees to it that policies are carried out in the right way;

- represent: the Council represents the inhabitants of the Province of Fryslân.

The Provincial Council also carries out the task of electing the members of the Senate, the Eerste Kamer of National Parliament in The Hague. 


De FNP as we speak has a political fraction of  4 seats in the Provincial Council playing an active part in the political arena.. 



2023 FNP Fryslân - Disclaimer